Lists

The Book Guilt List

We all have those books we are ashamed of having not read.  I posted this on my personal blog a few months ago and thought it would be better placed here, on my new book blog, so I’ve decided to make a revised list.  This list is based on my tastes, personality, and general reading life and includes books that I should have read and one point or another and am not quite sure what happened…

Get your gasps ready, because this is going to be scandalous:

  1. The Iliad/ The Odyssey by Homer – this is a terrible lapse in my education as I know these are basically required reading in every high school…every but mine, apparently
  2. Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison – I’ve read the first chapter, “Battle Royal,” for 3 different classes (it was published independently several years before the novel), but never the whole novel, go figure
  3. Literally ANYTHING by Ernest Hemingway EXCEPT The Old Man and the Sea, despite Hemingway being one of my dad’s favorite authors
  4. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown – simply because it was so popular at one time.  I think I saw the movie once…
  5. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  6. Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – which I am currently reading, and have no idea how I haven’t read by now Done
  7. The Hitchhikers Guide to The Galaxy by Douglass Adams
  8. The Once and Future King by T.H. White
  9. Redwall by Brain Jacques (and here begins several children’s books I failed to read…)
  10. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
  11. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
  12. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstien
  13. Matilda by Roald Dahl (but I’ve seen the movie!) *slap*
  14. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
  15. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

If you want to see more of my shame, go over to my Goodreads account and take a look at my “to read” list.  The shame…

tumblr_m6hq2dANvV1qcitw2

What’s on your book guilt list?

Leave a comment